Columns & Opinions

It's All Academic

Faculty hiring

Monday, October 06, 2008

There are those who fear that giving priority to Canadians may compromise academic excellence. I don't agree.

Book Review

Aspiring women leaders

Monday, October 06, 2008

On Becoming a Woman Leader is something of a training manual drawn from the experiences of 10 women university presidents.

 

Archive
In My Opinion
Bring on the bandwidth

Universities accustomed to gripes about classroom and office space had better get ready to deal with complaints over another scarce resource.

Monday, September 08, 2008
It's All Academic
Where’s the debate?

Canadian universities are suffering from an ethical failure of nerve.

Monday, September 08, 2008
Book Review
Preparing future faculty

While navel-gazing is not the unique province of the academy, it does seem to be a core competency. We are aided in this obsession by private think tanks (among others), the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching being one of them.

Monday, September 08, 2008
In My Opinion
Marketing universities is a modern-day necessity

As a first-generation immigrant living in Toronto from the mid-1970s to 2002, I had never heard of Lakehead University. In fact, I first heard of Lakehead University when I applied for the position of director of communications in November 2002.

Tuesday, August 05, 2008
Book Review
The most democratic language

Anyone who has ever felt anxious about the rapid evolution of the English language over the past two decades or who has ever wondered where our changing language will be in another 10 years will find Mark Abley’s new book therapeutic, sage and enormously informative.

Tuesday, August 05, 2008
Academic Alphabet
Z is for Zugzwang

This spring, The Walrus ran “Failure to Fail,” an article about “The search for the elusive LPFOCU – the Last Person to Flunk Out of a Canadian University. ” Author Jay Teitel gleefully tells of being unable to find a single student who failed out.

Tuesday, August 05, 2008
Book Review
A case for exemption from research ethics review

For more than two decades in many parts of the world, governments have introduced various mandatory and voluntary practices and procedures for researchers whose work involves human participants. In Canada since 1998, human participant research has been governed by the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans.

Monday, June 09, 2008

More in the archive »



Jump Links