The Japan Times Online Sign inRegister
News Opinion Life in Japan Entertainment Sports
National news
Business
Cabinet profiles
Editorial
Opinion
Readers in council
Sunday features
Lifestyle
Community
Environment
Education
Media
Cartoons
Travel
Food
Film
Art
Music
Stage
Books
Movie listings
Exhibition listings
Advanced booking
Festivals
World Cup
Baseball
MLB
Soccer
Sumo
Other sports
Columns
Google Web japantimes.co.jp
Home > Life in Japan > Environment and Education

NATURAL SELECTIONS

Wednesday, June 14, 2006

DEALING WITH DEPRESSION

Where are these life-saving drugs in Japan?

Wednesday, May 31, 2006

EMBRYO DEATHS IN FOCUS

Philosopher reignites debate over contraception

Wednesday, May 10, 2006

ENVIRONMENTAL MUTATIONS

Reappraising the role of damaged DNA

Wednesday, April 12, 2006

FUNNY, BUT TRUE . . .

Poor health may be no-laughing matter

Wednesday, March 8, 2006

DARWINIANS' DELIGHT

New signals abound of our genetic evolution

Wednesday, February 8, 2006

SURVIVAL IN THE SUNDERBANS

Violent death stalks villagers' daily life

Wednesday, January 11, 2006

SCIENCE PREVAILS

I.D. 'revolution' gets its comeuppance

Wednesday, December 14, 2005

ORGAN SIZES

Trade-off apparent in bats' 'costly tissues'

Wednesday, November 30, 2005

'MIGHTY MOUSE' TO AID OF MEDICINE

'Monster' gene defect may counter deadly affliction

Wednesday, November 9, 2005

EAT YOUR GREENS!

Study finds broccoli combats gastritis

WILD WATCH

Wednesday, May 17, 2006

WETLANDS WIPEOUT

Mud, mud, glorious mud

Wednesday, April 19, 2006

BILLS AND BEAKS

Birds' amazing 'tweezers'

Wednesday, March 15, 2006

WOODPECKERS

What's making a noise in the woods?

Wednesday, February 15, 2006

IN THE DIPPER'S DOMAIN

Underwater walker beggars belief

Wednesday, January 18, 2006

THE 'HONEY-POT' APPROACH

Half-truths to the aid of conservation

Wednesday, December 21, 2005

NATURE IN THE RAW

Soaking up surprises while out birding in the buff

Wednesday, November 16, 2005

FALLING FOR FUNGUS

Taking delight in decomposition

Wednesday, October 19, 2005

HUNTING SEASON

Autumn sees predators in action

Wednesday, September 14, 2005

MURITZ N. P., GERMANY

Taking it slowly to savor eco-exploring

Thursday, August 18, 2005

ODOBENUS ROSMARUS REVEALED

What a curious wonder the walrus is

ANIMAL TRACKER


Cattle egret


Schlegel's green tree frog


Blue & white flycatcher


Dark sleeper


Peacock butterfly


Black-spotted frog


Japanese huchen


Signal crayfish

OLD NIC'S NOTEBOOK

Wednesday, June 7, 2006

REACHING OUT

Have-nots put elite twits to shame

Wednesday, May 3, 2006

Yearning for Canada's high north

Wednesday, April 5, 2006

CHOCKS AWAY WITH THE MSDF!

Patrolling the seas from on high

Wednesday, March 1, 2006

OKINAWA JOTTINGS

Dead wood mars warm winter retreat

Wednesday, February 1, 2006

WOODS AND WALES

'Twin' trip full of pleasant surprises

Wednesday, January 4, 2006

'WATER GARDENING'

Letting laughter flow in our woods

Wednesday, December 7, 2005

SYLVAN SIGNALS

Creative destruction augurs well for woodland well-being

Wednesday, November 2, 2005

WHEN NORSE MEETS INUIT

Recalling fond memories of eiders

Wednesday, October 5, 2005

GREAT BEAR LAKE

Sad drumbeats in the wilderness

Thursday, September 1, 2005

RIVER LORE

Learning to enjoy where waters flow free

OUR PLANET EARTH

Wednesday, May 24, 2006

IRISH TROVE SET TO BE TRASHED

A road to ancient history's ruin

Wednesday, April 26, 2006

U.S. ENERGY POLICY

A voice of reason countering Big Oil's clout

Wednesday, March 22, 2006

LESSONS FROM THE PAST

Self-interest and those Greenland pigs

Wednesday, February 22, 2006

D-DAY LOOMS FOR VITAL TIDAL FLATS

S. Korean wetland faces doom

Wednesday, January 25, 2006

EDUCATION RESOURCES

Saving our environment one step at a time

Wednesday, December 28, 2005

BIG SIGHT PUTS FOCUS ON SOCIETY

Sleazy snappers turn eco-show sour

Wednesday, November 23, 2005

'GREEN' PRESSURE PAYING OFF

Big Money warms to socially responsible investing

Wednesday, October 26, 2005

Amazon's best defense is its people

Wednesday, September 21, 2005

BEATING THE BIOREGION DRUM

Putting people back into ecology

Thursday, August 25, 2005

FEEDBACK FED BACK

Illuminating responses to 'Glimmers of hope . . . '

IN BLOOM


Kinugasatake (Veiled lady mushroom)


Kuremachisu (Clematis)


Kara (Calla or Arum lily)


Katakuri (Dog's-tooth violet)


Shunran (Asian cymbidium orchid)


Kurokkasu (Crocus)


Akashia (Mimosa)


Shina-mansaku (Chinese witch hazel)

BILINGUAL

Tuesday, June 13, 2006

World Cup commentary a whole new ball game

Tuesday, May 23, 2006

Opening up to difference: The dialect dialectic

Tuesday, May 16, 2006

Baseball scoreless in language bout with sumo

Tuesday, May 9, 2006

Hierarchy at work, hiding in underwear drawer

Tuesday, May 2, 2006

Manga fans take their Japanese to another level

Tuesday, April 11, 2006

Linguistic art of cutting and running gets a tweak

Tuesday, March 28, 2006

Modern teaching tools capitalize on 'Japan cool'

Tuesday, March 21, 2006

Odd use of foreign loan words a sign of the times

Tuesday, March 14, 2006

Ensnared in the office, dads increasingly remote

Tuesday, March 7, 2006

Shades of green in search for homecoming gift

SO, WHAT THE HECK IS THAT?

Tuesday, May 16, 2006

Kishagasa

Tuesday, April 18, 2006

Sound trucks

Tuesday, March 21, 2006

White Day

Tuesday, February 21, 2006

Number plates

Tuesday, January 17, 2006

Suicide

Tuesday, December 20, 2005

Baggy trousers

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

Gigantic spider

Tuesday, October 18, 2005

Water pumps

Tuesday, September 20, 2005

Maru boats

Thursday, August 18, 2005

Jizo

ON THE BOOK TRAIL

JT Books

GENKI-ONLINE!An Integrated Course in Elementary Japanese containing grammar exercises, listening practices, practice for kanji, and more!

GENKI-ONLINE!

Business Jet Charter

Business Jet Charter

Business Jet Charter

Shukan ST

Shukan STA bilingual newspaper for Japanese learners of English --
Shukan ST

Shukan ST

The Weekly

The WeeklyAll the major international and domestic news of the past week --

Want to write a letter to the editor? Ask a question about a story?
Click here!

Contact The Japan Times

Subscribe for the latest news, sports, analysis and features from Japan and around the world.
For detail/ more! >>

Contact The Japan Times
7-day free trial
Google Web japantimes.co.jp
Back to Top

Privacy policy
Advertise in japantimes.co.jp.
This site is optimized for viewing with Netscape, version 7.1 or Internet Explorer, version 6.0 or above.
The Japan Times Ltd. All rights reserved.