If you have an additional domain or domain alias that you no longer use with your Google Workspace account, you can remove the domain from your account. Your users will stop receiving email and other Google services at the domain.
Remove a domain from Google Workspace or Cloud Identity
Use Google Sites? Removing a domain permanently deletes any sites built in that domain. Before removing the domain, copy any sites that you want to save to another Google domain:
- Sign in as a user in the other domain.
- Follow instructions to copy a classic site.
Sign in to your Google Admin console.
Sign in using your administrator account (does not end in @gmail.com).
If you are removing a secondary domain:
- Delete any groups associated with this domain.
- From the Admin console Home page, go to Users.
- Enter the domain you're removing in the search bar at the top of the Admin console.
- Rename any users that that are associated with this domain.
Tip: If you have a large number of users, you can rename them in bulk.
From the Admin console Home page, go to DomainsManage domains.
- In Manage domains, scroll to the domain you're removing, and click Remove.
Reusing your domain
Usually, you can reuse a domain's name in your current Google Workspace account within 30 minutes of removing it. However, if the domain had a large number of users, you might need to wait up to 24 hours.
Note: To use the domain for a new Google Workspace account, you might need to wait up to 48 hours. Learn more