You can control your history and other browsing data, like saved form entries.
You can delete all of your data or just some from a specific time.
What happens to your info
- Browsing history: Clearing your browsing history deletes the following:
- Web addresses you've visited are removed from the History page.
- Shortcuts to those pages are removed from the New Tab page.
- Address bar predictions for those websites are no longer shown.
- Cookies and other site data
- Cookies: Cookies are files created by websites you visit. They make your online experience easier by saving browsing information.
- Site data: HTML5-enabled storage types including application caches, Web Storage data, Web SQL Database data, and Indexed Database data.
- Handlers. Chrome allows external applications and web services to open certain links. For example, certain links can open a site like Gmail or a program like iTunes. The default action you set for certain types of link will be deleted
- Media licenses: Licenses for HTML5 or Flash protected content, like movies or music that you’ve played or downloaded, are deleted.
- Cached images and files: Chrome remembers parts of pages to help them open faster during your next visit. Text and images from pages you've visited in Chrome are removed.
The "Advanced" section includes the basic data types, plus the following:
- Download history: The list of files you've downloaded using Chrome is cleared, but the actual files aren't removed from your computer.
- Passwords: Records of passwords you saved are deleted.
- Autofill form data: Your Autofill entries are deleted, including addresses and credit cards. Cards from your Google Pay account aren't deleted.
- Hosted app data: Data from hosted Chrome Web Store apps is erased, like the local storage used by Gmail Offline.
There are other types of data that are related to your behavior online. These other types of data can be deleted separately:
- Search history & other Google activity: Searches and other activity on Google services are saved to your Google Account. Learn how to delete Google activity.
- Extensions: Extensions can store data on your computer or in your Google Account. Learn how to uninstall an extension.
Delete your browsing data
If you sync a type of data, like history or passwords, deleting it on your computer will delete it everywhere it's synced. It'll be removed from other devices and your Google Account.
- On your computer, open Chrome.
- At the top right, click More .
- Click More tools Clear browsing data.
- Choose a time range, like Last hour or All time.
- Select the types of information you want to remove.
- Click Clear data.
Note: If you delete cookies and have sync turned on, Chrome keeps you signed into your Google Account. Your cookies will be removed from other devices and your Google Account.
Delete individual items
Instead of deleting entire categories of your browsing data, you can pick items to delete:
Delete from one device
Deleting info from a device will delete it everywhere it's synced. To delete the data from one device without removing it everywhere:
- Turn off sync on the device.
- Delete the data from the device.