By default, you own any file you create in or upload to Google Drive.
You can transfer ownership of your Google files and folders to someone with a Google Account.
Tip: You can't transfer ownership of a Form at this time.
Before you transfer ownership
You can only transfer ownership of Google files and folders.When you make someone else the owner of a folder, you still own the files inside. Learn more about sharing folders.
Note: If you transfer ownership of a lot of files and folders at once, it may take some time for you to see the changes.
Files you can transfer
- Google Docs
- Google Sheets
- Google Slides
- Google Drawings
- Google My Maps
Tip: When you transfer ownership of a folder it transfers only the selected folder and does not include the files inside.
After you change file owners
When you make someone else the owner of a file, you won’t be able to:
- Transfer ownership, even back to yourself.
- Permanently delete the file from Google Drive.
How to change owners
- Open the homescreen for Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Sheets, or Google Slides.
- Click the file you want to transfer to someone else.
- Click Share or Share .
- To the right of a person you've already shared the file with, click the Down arrow .
- Click Make owner.
- Click Done.
After you make someone else the owner of a file, you can edit the file unless the new owner decides to change your access.